Trial-court conviction
t2w4-30-003Karur, Tamil NaduConvicted 18 May 2016

State (V&AC) v. Karur Police Inspector of Police

The DVAC Convictions during 2016-17 official list (POLICE section) records that the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Karur convicted the Inspector of Police, AWPS Kulithalai, Karur District on 18.05.2016 in CC No.05/2014, sentencing the officer to SI for 1 year with Rs.1,000 fine under s.7 of the PC Act 1988 and SI for 2 years with Rs.5,000 fine under s.13(2) r/w s.13(1)(d), to run concurrently. The officer personal name is not stated on the DVAC list. Appeal status is not stated.

Trial-court convictionV2
What this record means

This page documents a trial-court conviction from the cited sources below. It is not a High Court or Supreme Court finding; the conviction may have been appealed. Findings are attributed to the convicting court; this record does not add findings of its own.

How verification works →

Report card

By judgment dated 18 May 2016, the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Karur convicted the Inspector of Police, All Women Police Station (AWPS), Kulithalai, Karur District.

Register number
TN 47 CW 0006
Case reference
CC No.05/2014
Court and date
The Chief Judicial Magistrate, Karur, 18 May 2016
Officer(s) at the material time
Inspector of Police, All Women Police Station (AWPS), Kulithalai, Karur District
Present service status
Not ascertained from the cited sources.
Provisions invoked
Section 7 of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988; Section 13(2) read with Section 13(1)(d) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988
Finding of the Court (extract)
“An Inspector of Police, AWPS, Kulithalai, Karur District was convicted on 18.05.2016 and sentenced to undergo S.I for 1 year and fined Rs.1,000/- ... u/s 7 of the PC Act-1988 and S.I for 2 years and fined Rs.5,000/- ... u/s …”
Verdict, sentence and quantum
Conviction recorded by the trial court. Sentence: SI for 1 year (s.7) and SI for 2 years (s.13(2) r/w 13(1)(d)), concurrent
Present status of the proceedings
No appeal is known from the cited sources.

Compiled from the judgment and the cited sources. Findings are those of the court; this card adds none of its own.

Chief Judicial Magistrate, Karur convicted the accused police personnel on 18 May 2016. No appeal is known from the cited sources.

Sentence & charges

Sentence: SI for 1 year (s.7) and SI for 2 years (s.13(2) r/w 13(1)(d)), concurrent

Sections: PC Act 1988 s.7; PC Act 1988 s.13(2) r/w s.13(1)(d)

Appeal status

No appeal known.

Keep exploring

These records are listed together because they share a state or a topic. That does not mean they are connected.