Trial-court conviction
t2w3-15-005Patiala, PunjabConvicted June 2019

VB June-2019 monthly round-up: 'Vigilance nabs 13 officials, 2 private persons in 12 bribery cases during June; Seven officials sentenced by special courts' (decided June 2019, released 8 July 2019)

Per the Punjab Vigilance Bureau's official June-2019 monthly round-up (released 8 July 2019), ASI, posted at Patiala, was convicted and sentenced to 3 years imprisonment with Rs 20,000 fine by the Additional Sessions Judge, Patiala, in a bribery case contested by the Bureau and decided in June 2019. The release does not [name withheld] the FIR number, trap date, or PC Act sections. The same VB release was carried verbatim by Social Observer, corroborating the release text; no appeal record found (appeal_status none_known).

Trial-court convictionV2
What this record means

This page documents a trial-court conviction from the cited sources below. It is not a High Court or Supreme Court finding; the conviction may have been appealed. Findings are attributed to the convicting court; this record does not add findings of its own.

How verification works →

Report card

By judgment in June 2019, the Additional Sessions Judge, Patiala convicted the ASI, posted at Patiala.

Register number
PB 11 CW 0006
Case reference
Bribery case decided June 2019 (Additional Sessions Judge, Patiala; FIR/case number not stated in VB release); reported in the judgment of the Punjab and Haryana High Court
Court and date
The Additional Sessions Judge, Patiala, 2019-06
Officer(s) at the material time
ASI, posted at Patiala
Present service status
Not ascertained from the cited sources.
Provisions invoked
Section (bribery; exact sections not stated in VB release) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988
Finding of the Court (extract)
“[name withheld] ASI posted at Patiala has also been convicted and sentenced with 3 years imprisonment and fine of Rs. 20,000/- by the Additional Session Judge, Patiala.”
Verdict, sentence and quantum
Conviction recorded by the trial court. Sentence: 3 years imprisonment (rigorous/simple not stated in release)
Present status of the proceedings
No appeal is known from the cited sources.

Compiled from the judgment and the cited sources. Findings are those of the court; this card adds none of its own.

Additional Sessions Judge, Patiala convicted the accused police personnel on June 2019. No appeal is known from the cited sources.

Sentence & charges

Sentence: 3 years imprisonment (rigorous/simple not stated in release)

Sections: PC Act 1988 (bribery; exact sections not stated in VB release)

Appeal status

No appeal known.

Keep exploring

These records are listed together because they share a state or a topic. That does not mean they are connected.