Trial-court conviction
t2w2-02-001Bokaro, JharkhandConvicted 10 May 2019

Sessions Trial No. 299 of 2010 (CBI case; complaint of custodial torture/death of Bokaro Man) — State (CBI) vs [name withheld] & [name withheld] [name withheld]

The Court of Session (Sessions Trial No. 299 of 2010) on 10 May 2019 convicted Sub-Inspector and Assistant Sub-Inspector [name withheld] for the illegal detention (22–28 December 2005) and assault of tribal youth a Bokaro man, who died after admission to Bokaro General Hospital, holding them guilty under IPC Sections 323, 343 and 120B while acquitting them of Section 304. The case was investigated by the CBI on Jharkhand High Court direction (W.P.(PIL) No. 1654 of 2006) after a complaint of third-degree torture, with cognizance taken on protest petition on 9 February 2009. An appeal against the 10 May 2019 judgment was pending when the High Court decided the compensation writ on 13 December 2019; sentence quantum and exact sessions division were not stated in the opened sources.

Trial-court convictionV1
What this record means

This page documents a trial-court conviction from the cited sources below. It is not a High Court or Supreme Court finding; the conviction may have been appealed. Findings are attributed to the convicting court; this record does not add findings of its own.

How verification works →

Report card

By judgment dated 10 May 2019, the Court of Session, Bokaro (Sessions Trial No. 299 of 2010) convicted 2 police personnel, namely: Sub-Inspector of Police, Bokaro police (Sector-XII police station case), Jharkhand Police; Assistant Sub-Inspector (investigating officer of the case), Bokaro police (Sector-XII police station case), Jharkhand Police.

Register number
JH 09 CW 0008
Case reference
Sessions Trial No. 299 of 2010 (CBI case; W.P.(PIL) No. 1654 of 2006 reference)
Court and date
The Court of Session, Bokaro (Sessions Trial No. 299 of 2010), 10 May 2019
Officer(s) at the material time
Sub-Inspector of Police, Bokaro police (Sector-XII police station case), Jharkhand Police; Assistant Sub-Inspector (investigating officer of the case), Bokaro police (Sector-XII police station case), Jharkhand Police
Present service status
Not ascertained from the cited sources.
Provisions invoked
Section 120B of the Indian Penal Code, 1860; Section 323 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860; Section 343 of the Indian Penal Code, 1860
Finding of the Court (extract)
“holding the accused, namely, [name withheld] as well as [name withheld] guilty of the charges punishable under Sections 120-B, 323 and 343 of Indian Penal Code and accordingly, they have been convicted under these sections”
Verdict, sentence and quantum
Conviction recorded by the trial court. Sentence: Not stated in opened sources; convicted under Sections 323, 343 and 120B IPC (acquitted under Section 304 IPC)
Present status of the proceedings
An appeal is pending; the pendency of an appeal is not a finding.

Compiled from the judgment and the cited sources. Findings are those of the court; this card adds none of its own.

Court of Session, Bokaro (Sessions Trial No. 299 of 2010) convicted the accused police personnel on 10 May 2019. An appeal is pending; initiation or pendency of an appeal is not a finding.

Sentence & charges

Sentence: Not stated in opened sources; convicted under Sections 323, 343 and 120B IPC (acquitted under Section 304 IPC)

Sections: IPC 120B; IPC 323; IPC 343

Appeal status

Appeal pending.

Keep exploring

These records are listed together because they share a state or a topic. That does not mean they are connected.